An Inspiring Story of My Highly Successful Mentee: Transitioning from a casual Non-IT worker to a Test Automation Engineer Earning a Six-Figure Salary in Just Seven Months

One day, she called me, “Master Shifu, I failed you, only get a 6-digit salary in the 7th month”.

Zhimin Zhan
7 min readOct 27, 2023

--

Image credit: https://pixabay.com/illustrations/earn-laptop-money-online-woman-3499449/

This real story (by the title) sounds unbelievable, I will start with another short story (with proof) to support it.

Two years ago, a former IT director contacted me via LinkedIn, asking me to recommend good automated testers. Below is my reply, mentioning L.

The IT director’s reply.

L had little experience in IT (in fact, no full-time working experience at all), let alone test automation. But L was a very diligent person and followed my instructions well. Under my training, she could work on real test cases within two days.

--

--

Zhimin Zhan

Test automation & CT coach, author, speaker and award-winning software developer. Help teams succeed with Agile/DevOps by implementing real Continuous Testing.