Case Study: How Test Automation Greatly Enhances Productivity for Developing a User Story

How does a 10X+ programmer work? The majority of the time is on test automation.

Zhimin Zhan
8 min readAug 18, 2022

--

This article is the sequel to “Upskill Software Engineers in Test Automation to greatly Boost Productivity”, showing automated UI testing help me to implement a user story efficiently.

One afternoon, I started to work on this user story for my new TestWisely app:

A set up wizard (steps) to create a basic cloud-testing lab in TestWisely (for new users).

This article shows how I implemented this user story.

Some readers might think I am bragging: 10X programmer? NO, actually I am being modest here (find out more at the bottom of this article). By the way, I stopped coding for others a decade ago. Check out several highly-acclaimed software products, including a winner of an international award, I created over the last 14 years, in spare time.

Table of Contents:
· 1. UI Design
· 2. Coding a step, Testing a step
· 3. Regression Testing (Automated)
· 4. Deploy to production
· Benefits of Continuous Testing

1. UI Design

--

--

Zhimin Zhan

Test automation & CT coach, author, speaker and award-winning software developer. Help teams succeed with Agile/DevOps by implementing real Continuous Testing.