My Innovative Solution to Load Testing: Run Selenium Tests (in real browsers) in a CT Server with Parallel Execution for better Load Testing

I started with this new load-testing approach for my app first. In 2015, I accomplished a major load-testing challenge for a large tech company. In 2018, Business Wire referred to real-browser-load-testing as “Groundbreaking Technology”.

Zhimin Zhan

--

This is included in the “My Innovative Solution to Test Automation and Continuous Testing” series.

Traditional Load Testing Tools, such as Load Runner and JMeter, generate load using thread-based Virtual Users (VU) to hit the target server.

I created LoadWise (2010–2013) for load-testing web apps. It got some commercial interests, including the US Department of Homeland Security. However, the approach does not work well for AJAX, the trend of modern websites. Though it was still commercially feasible at that time, I shelved it.

For effective and simple testing AJAX in Selenium, check out this article, “Test AJAX Properly and Efficiently with Selenium WebDriver, and Avoid ‘Automated Waiting’

--

--

Zhimin Zhan

Test automation & CT coach, author, speaker and award-winning software developer. Help teams succeed with Agile/DevOps by implementing real Continuous Testing.