My Test Automation Journey

Java/C# Programming ⇒ Test Automation + Continuous Testing; Now I do coding, testing, and CT daily for my own apps and coach test automation and CT for clients.

Zhimin Zhan
10 min readMar 29, 2021

--

Image Credit: http://getdrawings.com/journey-drawing#journey-drawing-35.jpg

Non-Medium-Members: you can view this article free on Vocal Media.

This article is a reflection of my 15-year journey in test automation since 2005. Prior to that, I had worked mostly as a Java Programmer (contractor) for 8 years.

  • (2005–2006) JWebUnit (HTMLUnit) using Intellij IDEA
  • (2006–2011) Watir with RSpec
  • (2011–2012) RWebSpec on top of Watir and Selenium WebDriver
  • (2011–2013) Load Testing with LoadWise

In 2010, I switched to daywork from programming to test automation and Continuous Testing. My love for programming was not changed, just do it differently: coding for my own products in my spare time. Thanks to my CT process, my productivity in software development is an order of magnitude better. Please read “Reflections of Software I Created over the Last 14 Years in My Spare Time”.

  • (2012-present) raw Selenium WebDriver with RSpec
  • (2012-present) API/WebServices Testing with Ruby
  • (2019-present) Appium…

--

--

Zhimin Zhan

Test automation & CT coach, author, speaker and award-winning software developer. Help teams succeed with Agile/DevOps by implementing real Continuous Testing.