Protractor.js is dead, What did we learn?

Avoid hypes, do real hands-on end-to-end test automation daily. Raw Selenium WebDriver + RSpec is better.

Zhimin Zhan
8 min readMay 11, 2023

--

Non-Medium-Members: you can view this article free on Vocal Media.

My recent article “ ‘Cucumber is Dying’, What did we learn?” turned out to be a hit, in terms of reads within my 300+ articles. I have been warning people about “Gherkin” in test automation at software testing conferences, in my books, during my coaching, …, etc. There were disagreements and doubts about my judgment. This time, no single argument/disagreement, as my prediction (since 2013) about Cucumber is correct.

Today, I will write about another correct prediction on Protractor.js. Some of you might have read my articles on this topic:

A brief introduction to Protractor.js for testers who are not aware of it. Protractor.js was quite a big hype, not long ago. In fact, its deprecation was only announced in April 2021.

--

--

Zhimin Zhan

Test automation & CT coach, author, speaker and award-winning software developer. Help teams succeed with Agile/DevOps by implementing real Continuous Testing.