TestWise: “Run selected steps against the current browser”

An essential test-developing/debugging feature for wise test automation engineers.

Zhimin Zhan
5 min readMar 26, 2023

--

A repost of my daughter’s article, I added a few notes. Courtney has been writing raw Selenium tests since the age of 12. I suggested one topic for her writing this week, “What is the most important reason that you exhibited significantly higher productivity than the ‘best senior test automation engineer’ in her first internal role at a large telecom firm?”. Also, I added, “Take into consideration the perspectives of both beginners and experienced test automation engineers”. This article was her answer.

In my First Day Setup series, I mentioned that my favourite feature of TestWise (a functional testing IDE) is running selected steps against the current browser. It enables you to run any test steps on a currently open browser and is extremely helpful for writing and debugging tests.

This article is dedicated to when and how to use this helpful feature.

Table of Contents:
· Before Using this Feature
·
Using “Run Selected Scripts Against Current Browser”
When to Use this Feature?

Before Using this Feature

--

--

Zhimin Zhan

Test automation & CT coach, author, speaker and award-winning software developer. Help teams succeed with Agile/DevOps by implementing real Continuous Testing.