The Reason that Led to Docker Mess at Many Software Companies

Don’t Over-Engineer Docker. Use it simply.

Zhimin Zhan
5 min readApr 5, 2024

--

Today, I saw a retweet by DHH (creator of Ruby on Rails and co-author of the best-selling ReWork series), which contains this image:

The original tweet, with 5.7K loves and 507 reposts!

DHH’s comment: “This meme should be right up my alley, but Docker is to me one of the greatest simplifying technologies I’ve seen in my career. The trick is just to stop there! Docker barely needs any seasoning to be delicious (try Kamal for zero-gap deploys, it’s just Docker calls!)”.

I agree with DHH. When Docker is used simply, it can be good. Unfortunately, container technologies are often wrongly used.

A Story of My Phone Conversion with a CIO

A few years ago, I received a LinkedIn message from the CEO of a local small-medium-sized software company. This CEO, somehow heard of me and wanted me to help implement End-to-End test Automation and Continuous Testing. I accepted his connection and shared my phone number.

On the phone call, this CEO explained his eagerness to achieve “Release Early; Release Often”. He asked whether it was OK to let his CIO talk to me before the possible engagement. I agreed.

--

--

Zhimin Zhan

Test automation & CT coach, author, speaker and award-winning software developer. Help teams succeed with Agile/DevOps by implementing real Continuous Testing.