Unit Testing Clarified

Only programmers do unit testing, which is no concern to software testers (QA team).

Zhimin Zhan
7 min readAug 21, 2021

--

Non-Medium-Members: you can view this article free on Vocal Media.

This article is one of the “IT Terminology Clarified” series.

In software testing, there are many terminologies that are used wrongly by IT professionals. In this article, I will talk about ‘Unit Testing’, which is misused a lot in software projects.

Unit testing is a type of white box testing performed by programmers at the source code level. Software testers (QA team) should have no concerns about it. A more correct term for ‘Unit Testing’ would be “Programmer Test(I didn’t invent this term, I read it from a book. Pitifully, I forgot the name of that book).

Last week, an IT manager showed me their release document, which has “QA unit testing(by manual testers). I pointed out the error. This manager was quite open-minded and corrected it immediately: “QA functional testing”. I have seen this mistake many times; however, not everyone was willing to admit that. Though I don’t remember anyone argue on this (the mistake was so obvious), a common response from the tech leads: “put aside the differences of the terminology, blah blah blah, …”. Frankly, I have lost interest in listening to a tech lead…

--

--

Zhimin Zhan

Test automation & CT coach, author, speaker and award-winning software developer. Help teams succeed with Agile/DevOps by implementing real Continuous Testing.