Why I don’t use Test Management Tools at all?

Avoid those useless “Test Management tools”. Learn and Practise Test Automation!

Zhimin Zhan
7 min readDec 14, 2022

--

This article is one of the “IT Terminology Clarified” series.

You might have heard of some of the following so-called test management tools, such as Quality Center, TestRail, PractiTest, Xray, Testmo, and SpiraTest. Not long ago, I received one LinkedIn message from one of the above to promote its product on my blog. I rejected it by replying, “I don’t use any test management tools, and strongly suggest my clients avoid using one”.

What is Test Management Tool?
Test Management Tool is a legacy of Waterfall
Agile/DevOps Perspective
Test Management Tools are for reporting, not assisting in Test Execution
Why is Test Management Tools totally useless in Test Execution?
How about Regression Testing?
As a test manager, I agree. How can I move away from the test management tool?

What is Test Management Tool?

According to Guru99, “Test management tools are used to store information on how testing is to be done, plan specific testing activities, and

--

--

Zhimin Zhan

Test automation & CT coach, author, speaker and award-winning software developer. Help teams succeed with Agile/DevOps by implementing real Continuous Testing.