Why I Encourage My Daughter to Pursue Information Technology as a Career?

Goal: Do creative work with no constraints on time and place for global customers.

Zhimin Zhan

--

Today, I attended Courtney, my daughter’s graduation ceremony, where she received her second degree, a Bachelor of Computer Science with First Class Honours. After earning her first Bachelor's degree, she began working at a FAANG company and pursued this degree part-time, completing it in two years.

Before attending the ceremony, I recall the time recommending that she pursue “Information Technology” as her university degree over five years ago. I even used the image below to help.

Image credit: https://www.flipkart.com/pixadunes-cristiano-ronaldo-motivational-quotes-poster-wall-just-do-it-12-x-18-inches-paper-print/p/itm9a14ef7dd4ab6

Cristiano Ronaldo said, “Just do IT”. IT: Information Technology. She laughed.

Of course, CR7 is not the reason. My daughter did not have a particular interest then, so she took my advice, and it turned out quite fine.

My recommendation is not based solely on my years of experience as a software developer (in fact, many software professionals did not want their children to do IT), but rather, I foresaw an emerging new & better working style.

Do creative work with no constraints on time and place, for global customers.

--

--

Zhimin Zhan

Test automation & CT coach, author, speaker and award-winning software developer. Help teams succeed with Agile/DevOps by implementing real Continuous Testing.