E2E Test Automation Regression Testing is Far More Preferrable than a Formal Code Review PR Process

Test Automation is the foundation of Agile, While the first Agile Value (defined in the Agile Manifesto) is discouraging formal processes.

Zhimin Zhan
9 min readApr 7, 2024

--

Yesterday, I posted the above book quote on LinkedIn. Usually, I limit the comments to my connections only (for the reason: Clarity Does Not Necessarily Emerge Through Prolonged Debate). I overlooked this time.

A formal code review process is common in so-called ‘Agile’ teams, so it is a sensitive topic (some people’s jobs depend on this phoney process; A bit like User Story Points Estimation, which was quite popular a few years ago). Naturally, I received some disagreement comments, along with likes. I rarely respond to social media posts with my opinions, given limitations such as text length, inability to include images or videos, or even links to support my viewpoint. Hence, I wrote this article to respond.

For people who disagree with my articles and posts, I welcome different opinions. If you feel strong about it, please write a separate article (easier with LinkedIn or Medium) with solid proof and data. A statement like ‘Cypress runs much, much faster’ without the test suite and bencemark…

--

--

Zhimin Zhan

Test automation & CT coach, author, speaker and award-winning software developer. Help teams succeed with Agile/DevOps by implementing real Continuous Testing.