Why I Switched my day work from Programming to Automated Testing? Part 1: More Challenging

Real professionals enjoy challenging work. I am not belittling programming here, I still code (my own apps) daily. Just automated testing is far more challenging.

Zhimin Zhan
6 min readMar 13, 2022

--

The articles in this series:

My interest in programming started in high school. I received the 2nd prize in the state’s youth-programming competition. After getting my degrees in computer science, I worked in some high-profile companies for a few years and became a contractor, as a senior Java programmer. Since 2010, my full-time job title has been Test Automation and Continuous Testing coach. I develop maintainable automated test scripts instead of writing code for others. Why?

I am still programming my own apps, and consider myself a good programmer, received the 2nd prize in an international programming award in 2018.

Table of Contents
· Test Automation is far more challenging than coding
· Coding for many Enterprise Apps is Boring
· How did I make the

--

--

Zhimin Zhan

Test automation & CT coach, author, speaker and award-winning software developer. Help teams succeed with Agile/DevOps by implementing real Continuous Testing.